Higher Education System in India

Category: Global Economy Sub-category: Indian Economy
Document type: article

Indian higher education is decentralized with separate councils responsible for the regulation of different institutions.

The University Grants Commission of India is a statutory organization set up by Union government in 1956, for the coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of university education. It provides recognition for universities in India, and provides funds for government-recognized universities and colleges.

The West Bengal University of Technology (WBUT) is a public state university founded by the Government of West Bengal.

AICTE and DEC are two of the fifteen autonomous institutions established by the UGC. They are governed directly by the Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development. All other institutions have to be affiliated by the UGC itself to be able to legally function as recognized educational institutes of India.

West Bengal University of Technology is regulated by the University Grants Commission.