about us
West Bengal University of Technology

The West Bengal University of Technology, commonly referred to as WBUT or UTech, is a public state university. The university primarily provides programs in multidisciplinary fields like science, technology and management.

Funded at the initial stages of its formation by the Government of West Bengal, WBUT is set to become a "Center of Excellence" in multidisciplinary science and technology areas of topical importance, in studies and research, in addition to providing adequate facilities for the pursuit of degree and advanced-level course in management, paramedical and other professional areas through its affiliated institutions. The University has been accorded the affiliating University status with its jurisdiction encompassing the entire state of West Bengal.

The West Bengal University of Technology (WBUT) came into existence on August 5, 2000. It started functioning with the assumption of office of the first Vice Chancellor on January 15, 2001 as a sequel to the promulgation of the West Bengal University of Technology Act 2000; under the West Bengal Act XV of 2000 passed by the West Bengal Legislature and published in the Calcutta Gazette (Extraordinary) vide Publication dated July 20, 2000. The Act contemplates a General Council (GC), an Executive Council (EC), an Academic Council (AC), Finance Committee and an Advisory Council as its regulatry and advisory bodies. His Excellency, the Governor of the state of West Bengal would be the ex-officio Chancellor of the University.

Currently, the University is functioning through an Advisory Committee constituted by the Chancellor under the advice of the Government of West Bengal, as per necessary transitory provisions of the Act.

Till date, the University has 143 colleges and institutes affiliated to it spread throughout West Bengal.

See also

External links